top of page

DSCVR: KHAID - DIVERSITY EP, ARTIST OVERVIEW, MUSIC BREAKDOWN & STREAM

Updated: Jun 10, 2022

DISCOVER Khaid, Fast Rising Nigerian Talented Singer, Trapstar and Artiste Khaid, his story, his sound, his discography and his new emotionally inspired experimental Extended Playlist(EP) “DIVERSITY” which is Finally Here to the delight of fans. Kindly read article and Stream his music.


DSCVR pronounced as discover, is our new campaign in collaboration with WRONG SEQUENCE Music where we showcase the best of upcoming musical artistes from Nigeria bending, shifting and shaping the narrative and future of the culture of Nigerian Music. In this edition, we discover Neville Records fast-rising sensational singer-songwriter, Khaid.


Khaid (Real Name: Sulaimon Shekoni Solomon) is a male Nigerian versatile talented singer-songwriter who merges emo-trap and Afropop. Khaid started nurturing his music abilities at the age of 12, via freestyle videos and performing on the streets of Ojo, Lagos State, Nigeria. He was discovered, signed & announced by Neville Records Executive, Social Media Influencer, Comedian, Video Director, Popularly known as Sydney Talker on January 20th, 2022 subsequent to feeling amazed by his artistry & versatility in his freestyle videos on social media platforms. Khaid made his official entry into the music industry starting his career with traits of determination, persistency, and consistency at just 17 years of age. His debut track "With You" was released a week after presented along with record company “Neville Records" by Sydney Talker, one of Nigeria’s biggest content creators, Record Executive and founder of Neville Records, making Khaid his first signee.


Kindly Follow WRONG SEQUENCE Spotify User & "DSCVR" Playlist on Spotify For More updates, Before Proceeding to KHAID's Discography.



DISCOGRAPHY

  • WITH YOU


This is the debut music single by Khaid into the Nigerian music scene which is an Afrobeat song that has him talking about wanting to be with you (the partner of his dreams).

The audio & video to this track were initially released on January 28th 2022, however it later happens to feature as Track 1 on his debut EP "DIVERSITY". This track was produced by Ozedikus in collaboration with Z3NA, mastered by STG, and mixed by Swaz and STG, meanwhile the video which features AWOBOKUN EZEKIEL BLACKIE and SHINE ROSMAN alongside him was directed by OLU THE WAVE.

  • SKI


This is the sophomore music single by Khaid. The song "SKI" is a Trap influenced song as the 17-year-old rapper and singer show his lyrical ability. The audio & video to this track which is directed by label executive Sydney Talker were initially released on April 22nd 2022, however it later features as Track 2 on his debut EP "DIVERSITY".


  • DIVERSITY


This is an Afrofusion Extended Playlist (EP) by Khaid with 6 tracks which cuts across multiple musical genres Afropop, Amapiano and Emo-Trap which is said to be his the major sound. This project was released on May 27th 2022 to all Music Digital streaming platforms. On impact after the release of this project went live, it has featured on Youtube's "Africa's Next Wave", Audiomack's "5 NEW ALBUMS YOU NEED TO HEAR THIS WEEK", landed on the cover of Spotify's "Naija Bars", Apple Music's "Today's Hits" along side Africa Now", it has as well featured on more countless major playlists & countdowns on music digital streaming platform globally. In an interview with Apple Music Khaid says "DIVERSITY is the result of an 18-month-long artist development scheme—during which Khaid progressed as a songwriter, live performer and fine art enthusiast. “The EP shows how I lived in the past while diversifying into different genres of music”. “Each of us is made up of many parts—discover them all and enjoy the diversity.” Over six tracks, he blends the freedom of trap with local influences, and straddles the booming bass and heaving drums of amapiano as he reflects on his streetwise upbringing. By turns self-aware, confident and full of flair, Khaid is setting himself up to be the new wonderboy of Afropop—a goal he asserts across DIVERSITY with the recurring mantra “shleet”, a term he created to signify “a young, fresh blood doing something new”. In the article below, we share as Khaid discusses the EP, track by track with Apple Music.

Dive in and kindly listen/stream the 6 tracks on the EP "DIVERSITY - KHAID" using the embed Spotify player below as you proceed to reading the MUSIC BREAKDOWN article underneath:

MUSIC BREAKDOWN

Our MUSIC BREAKDOWN lets you see & hear the music directly from the Artiste's Perspective or Point Of View with clarity to truly understand the stories behind each song. In this DSCVR edition we share Khaid's MUSIC BREAKDOWN FROM his interview with Apple Music, however in further editions we hope to go closer & get in touch directly with the Artistes.


"WITH YOU"

KHAID breaks down this track on Apple Music Saying “One of my friends had a girlfriend, and they had issues. At times, he would say he’s going to trust her no more, and other times you’d actually see him [smiling] on a call with [her]. I used to tease him: ‘Yo, you just want to be with this girl.’ It’s not a heartbreak song; it’s a more happy vibe—though it’s kind of mixed because [I’m not] feeling heartbroken, and [I’m not feeling] too happy about a relationship that I don’t have. The phrase ‘GPS on my sound’ means I have a sound that you can locate. The lyrics came from me and Sydney Talker, my boss and manager. I wrote the song on an entirely different beat. When I was done recording, we had the vocals sent to [producer] Ozedikus. I was actually looking for a beat that would differentiate my sound—a beat that has a balance of Afro and a little bit of trap in it.”

Kindly watch the Official Music Video to "WITH YOU - KHAID" below


"SKI"

KHAID breaks down this track on Apple Music Saying “We had the producer Mage come down to Lagos because it’s an emo-trap song, and it was important that we sit down and watch the beat-making process. The word ‘ski’ makes for a melodic hook. It could also mean, ‘OK, I’m trapping and I’m happy that I’m trapping,’ just to express how I feel—as if to say, ‘Let me be, bro.’ The lyric ‘I’m just 17, but I got voices like Adele’ is me sending a message. You can hear Adele utilising her voice [as an instrument] in almost all her songs, so I think I had a little inspiration from her. The lyric ‘I was skipping all the classes in school/Because I spent my school fees’ is true because, when I was 14 or 15, I really didn’t like school. At one time, my dad had given me [money for my] school fees and said, ‘OK, you’ve got to pay.’ But because I was already not going to school, I just used the money to enjoy myself at that time. As for the mention of Adderall, that’s not my life; I don’t live like that.”

Kindly watch the Official Music Video to "SKI - KHAID" below


"AKPAKO”

KHAID talks about how they used to insult him back in the day when he wasn't famous calling him names like akpako, which he pitches to Apple Music as he breaks down this track saying “To be ‘akpako’ means to come from the streets. I have guys in the streets that are just ready to fight for me. I [experienced] living in the streets. I decided to write lyrics about the type of life I was living before. I had another beat I wrote ‘Akpako’ on, and we had the vocals sent to Ozedikus, who added this spiritual feel to it. He makes the difference in everything that he does.”


“BLESSED”

KHAID breaks down this track Saying “I see [fewer] people doing things and actually putting God in it. So, I was just like, why not add this spiritual feeling to [the EP]? On this one, I was freestyling. I had the melodies in my head but not the lyrics yet. With ‘Blessed’, I think I developed my confidence because that’s actually provided me the opportunity to be who I want to be, say things I feel like I want to say. Where I came from, doing this type of trap song, people will actually look at you like, ‘Bro, what are you doing?’ because you’re from the streets. I think I really want change. Success, to me, is when the trap sound is fully accepted. Not just the hip-hop sound, but that different types of sound are fully accepted.”


“FIRE”

“We needed a party jam to make people dance. I was just basically freestyling. This song was something I did in order to grow musically, to just write and keep on writing. We actually recorded the vocals and sent it to Yung Willis, the producer, to give it this vibe that you want to groove to. Amapiano has this bass that actually hits you. I think that’s why people love the South African sound so much.”


“BAD MAN”

“The ‘Bad Man’ is actually just the type of guys I used to be around within the streets. There’s no ‘good boy’ in anything we did. The lyric ‘I don’t want to die with my dreadlocks’ is because [I would] just be kidding around, saying, ‘You go to hell if you die with long hair.’ My particular hairstyle is actually just a completion of the type of look we want to give the audience. I don’t see myself as a leader of a new generation. I see myself as just one amongst many because I can’t really stand out. I just let the fans see me the type of way they want to see me. But actually, I think above the crowd. I still have a lot of work to do to put myself out there—to stand up.”



KHAID who is only just at the start of his career is force to be reckoned with and is for sure going to make a big impact on the world soon when he peaks, as he is a rare unlimited breed. In Diversity, he showed us an experimentation of the creative versatility of KHAID’s Shleet geng world, featuring him facing opposition, receiving insults while struggling to make a living, heartbreak & love/hate relationship issues in a very versatile sounding way with exceptional delivery, beautiful instrumentals, hard bumpy beats making you dance as you listen, confidence beyond words, vocals to match, articulate lyricism conveying his message with clarity and especially with positive vibes despite circumstances which he talks about in the narrative of emotions and experiences in the songs which is very relatable. This EP definitely met up & exceeded the expectations of what the project was presumed to be. It is a spectacular well-crafted unique body of work, from his splendid vocals, to the beats, flows & lyrics to the records production, creative direction in the videos & down to even the ambiguous cover art of him that makes you inquisitive. Finally, we would like to say a Big Thank You & Congratulations to KHAID, Sydney Talker, the producers Prodby106, Ozedikus, Z3NA, Mage, BEATDEMONS, Biggie Jazzy, Yung Willis & Andyr and the amazing Team at Neville Records for creating this energetic and vibe boosting beautiful body of work and for taking a huge step to make this project stand out from the usual or regular Nigerian Afrobeats or traditional music showing off KHAID’s incredible artistry and versatility in full form.


BUY OR STREAM "DIVERSITY - KHAID"


If you've read up to this point, kindly subscribe to join the mailing list to read more articles & have it delivered to your email, also kindly share this article to your friends & contacts to help us reach more audience & grow. Kindly Follow Our Social Media @natchsville & @wrong_sequence_

God Bless You. Warm Regards.

Pi The Moon Sage - NATCHSVILLE & WRONG SEQUENCE



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page